

Spring 2023 Meeting Business Meeting Friday, May 19th 12:15 - 1:00 pm Perry County Public Library Hazard, KY

Attendees

• This meeting had 23 people attending in-person

Call to Order

- The Kentucky Council on Archives board meeting was called to order at 12:15 pm by Chair Ruth Bryan.
- Ruth Bryan introduced current KCA Board members present at meeting (Elizabeth Reilly, Sandra Baird, Cathrine Giles, Rusty Heckaman)

Financial and Membership Report – Sandra Baird

- Membership to date is 39
- Annual dues collected to date: \$640.07
 Total funds available \$11,817.96 (\$8677.11 bank + \$3140.85 PayPal)

Website Report - Ruth Bryan (for Mark Meade)

- The KCA Board is considering updating the KCA website to a newer WordPress template to enable PayPal to function better and the site to render better on smaller screens such as mobile devices.
- The current site is <u>https://www.kyarchivists.com/</u> Mark has put together the proposed transitional site and it can be viewed here: <u>https://www.kyarchivists.com/staging/5264/</u>
- A survey will be sent out to KCA membership regarding the transitional website.

E/TC Award Committee Report – Kopana Terry

- The Education/Travel Award Committee was established to evaluate the overall efficiency of the KCA Education Fund Award and examine potential for creating a scholarship-based travel award to better support KCA members. The committee included Megan Mummy, Kopana Terry, Anu Kasarabada, Dieter Ullrich, and Sandra Baird.
- The committee found that the award was advertised for seven years and awarded only twice (a 28% success rate).

- The committee reviewed 27 scholarships from ten similar non-profit archives organizations and investigated the history of KCA's non-profit status.
- The E/TAC Award Committee recommends that KCA create a Continuing Education Scholarship to help KY archivists by supporting their professional development and that it be modeled after the Society of Southwest Archivist's A. Otis Hebert, Jr. Continuing Education Scholarship.
- The committee recommends that the KCA Education Fund Award be discontinued and that the KCA Board handle requests by outside organizations for support internally. The funds (no more than 35% of the membership dues for that year) allocated to that award should be instead used to support a Continuing Education Scholarship for Kentucky archivists.
- The committee recommends that KCA re-investigate applying for 501(c)(3) status from the IRS with the intention of bring it to KCA membership for a vote.
- The committee proposes for the new Continuing Education Scholarship be primarily for KCA members but also inclusive to any person engaged in archival work in KY as well as graduate students at a KY school who are preparing for a career in archives. The Continuing Education Scholarship would be managed by a yearly scholarship committee appointed by the KCA board and could be used for travel expenses and/or registration to a professional development/continuing education opportunity, including conferences can workshops.

SHRAB Report – Cathrine Giles

- The Kentucky State Historical Records Advisory Board was awarded a state funded grant to provide two SAA webinars on digital preservation with up to 30 participants each with a focus on underrepresented people or organizations. SHRAB is seeking ideas for the best way to announce and promote this opportunity outside of KCA.
 - It was suggested they share with KY Heritage and Museum Association, extension, KY Library Association, settlement schools, churches and synagogues, ACWR.
- SHRAB is currently working on a strategic plan and looks to work with Kentucky Heritage Emergency Response Network (KHERN).

Election

- Elizabeth Reilly read the candidate bios:
 - Vice Chair / Chair-Elect: Carol Street, Undergraduate Research Archivist at University of Kentucky

Treasurer: Mark Meade, Assistant Director of the Thomas Merton Center at Bellarmine University

Newsletter Editor: Cathrine Giles, State Records Branch Manager at the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives

Webmaster: Elisha Taylor, Archivist and Reference Librarian at the University of Pikeville's Special Collections and Archives

Member at Large: Matthew Strandmark, Education Archivist at the University of Kentucky; or Suellyn Lathrop, University Archivist at Western Kentucky University

Chair Report / KHERN report – Ruth Bryan

- KCA has been busy planning meetings, coming up with a proposed change to the Education Fund, planning a transitional website to improve PayPal and mobile functionality (thanks to Mark), and published three newsletters (thanks to Cathrine).
- Kentucky Heritage Emergency Response Network (KHERN) was organized in aftermath of Eastern KY
 flooding to coordinate communication across locally and nationally interested arts and cultural
 heritage emergency responders and organizations that need assistance. It grew out of weekly Zoom
 meetings organized by Emily Moses of KY Arts Council of Eastern KY Archives and Collections
 Recovery to connect Appalshop, Hindman, and supportive local helpers with national orgs. Melissa
 Bond of Community Arts Extension Program Leader for KY Cooperative Extension Service
 approached Ruth to develop a state-wide cultural heritage disaster response training program for
 county extension agents.
- KHERN has been meeting once every month or two months since September 2022 and currently includes Ruth, Rusty, and Cathrine from KCA Board, Becca Halbmaier of KDLA, Becky Ryder from Keeneland, Mandy Higgins from Lexington History Museum, and Leah Hamilton from UK Arts Administration.
- There is a small website: <u>https://kdla.ky.gov/SLARC/Pages/KHERN.aspx</u> and email address <u>ky.heritage.emergency.help@gmail.com</u>).
- A disaster response leaflet for cultural heritage organizations has been put together and will be available at <u>https://cedik.ca.uky.edu/arts-disaster-recovery</u>
- The current main goal of KHERN is to submit a network development grant proposal to Performing Arts Readiness that will be submitted by the end of June.

Election Results - Sandy Baird

- Vice Chair / Chair-Elect Carol Street
- Treasurer Mark Meade
- Newsletter Editor Cathrine Giles
- Webmaster Elisha Taylor
- Member at Large Suellyn Lathrop
- The official "passing of the gavel" happened from Chair Ruth Bryan to new current Chair Rusty Heckaman.

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned around 1:00 pm.

Meeting minutes respectfully submitted by Elizabeth Reilly, 2022-2024 Secretary.

Commented [1]: Change to 1:00 pm? Commented [2R1]: Agreed

KCA | 3